East Dunbartonshire votes No to Scottish Independence

4.35am news

East Dunbartonshire has voted for Scotland to remain within the United Kingdom.

A total of 48,314 (61 per cent) voted to reject independence, with 30,624 (39 per cent) voting “Yes.”

The final result for all 32 local authorities was expected after 6.30am.

The turnout for East Dunbartonshire was 91 per cent and the number of votes cast 79,011. The amount of spoiled ballot papers stood at 73.

Speaking at the count at the Leisuredrome in Bishopbriggs, East Dunbartonshire MP Jo Swinson said: “I feel it is a privilege to have had upwards of 90 per cent turnout in the area.

“I spoke to thousands of people on the doorsteps and it was very clear that people in this district want the benefits and advantages of staying in the United Kingdom.”

She added: “I am very confident the extra powers will come in an agreement across all three main parties. I have always wanted more powers for the Scottish Parliament.”

After the result at 4.35am, SNP MSP Fiona McLeod said: “I wouldn’t say I am disappointed. A 91 per cent turnout is fantastic. This is about the whole of Scotland. It’s not over yet.

“It’s been a great day and I’ve felt quite emotional. It looks like almost everyone voted in my own area - Westerton.

“We had 749 votes and there are only about 800 voters. This has been real democracy with such a high turnout. One thing is certain - politics is never going to be the same again in Scotland.”

Provost Una Walker said: “I am very happy. We worked extremely hard and I think that’s what has shown. I hope this vote compensates for some of the other places.

“I always thought it would be close - the no campaign seemed very far ahead initially but the yes caught up.”

Lib Dem Cllr for Bearsden Ashay Ghai said: “I am absolutely delighted, while Council Leader Rhondda Geekie added: “I am thrilled. We put a lot of hard work into this pounding pavements day after day and spoke to so many people.”