Election special - free with this week’s Herald

editorial image

THE people of East Dunbartonshire, North Lanarkshire and North Glasgow will elect new councils on May 3.

In Kirkintilloch and Bishopbriggs there are 45 candidates vying to represent their communities.

There are eight wards across the council area – each electing three councillors to serve for the next five years.

The 24 elected members will help to direct and shape the future of communities in Kirkintilloch, Bishopbriggs, Lennoxtown and beyond.

The council delivers local services such as schools, roads, housing, social work and planning.

Councillors also play a vital role in helping constituents with any issues, problems or queries they may have, so it’s important you have a say in who is representing you.

There are eight multi-member wards:

* Ward 1 – Milngavie

* Ward 2 – Bearsden North

* Ward 3 – Bearsden South

* Ward 4 – Campsie and Kirkintilloch North

* Ward 5 – Bishopbriggs North & Torrance

* Ward 6 – Bishopbriggs South

* Ward 7 – Lenzie and Kirkintilloch South

* Ward 8 – Kirkintilloch East and Twechar

A list of all the candidates can be found on the council’s website, but in this week’s Herald you will find a message from each of the candidates standing in the wards covered by the Kirkintilloch and Bishopbriggs Herald.

Voters in the Northern Corridor and Springburn areas can also find information on their candidates in the next four pages.

Voting takes place at your polling place between 7am and 10pm on Thursday, May 3, unless you have asked for a postal or proxy vote.

* Have you got a story, picture or comment? E-mail kirkyherald@jnscotland.co.uk

Alternatively you can call the newsdesk 0141 775 0040, find us on Facebook or visit us on Twitter

Or you can log in below and have you say on the site...