Final plans in place for election

Ballot box
Ballot box

The people of East Dunbartonshire will go to the polling booths on May 5 to help elect new Members of the Scottish Parliament - and help is at hand for those who need it.

Local residents will vote in one of two constituencies depending on where they live:

n Strathkelvin and Bearsden (including Bearsden South, Kirkintilloch, Bishopbriggs, Twechar, Torrance, Milton of Campsie and Lennoxtown).

n Clydebank and Milngavie (including the local wards of Milngavie and Bearsden North).

All East Dunbartonshire residents will also vote for list MSP candidates in the West Scotland Region.

Postal packs have been sent out for those who registered prior to the deadline. Replacement packs are available for lost postal votes from April 28.

The majority of polling cards have been distributed, but a second tranche will be sent out before the election for those whose details changed in the run-up to the registration deadline.

The cards carry the details of the individual voter and where they can cast their vote or whether they have applied for a postal vote.

Due to the ongoing work at Bearsden Burgh Hall, the adjacent All Saints Church Hall will be used as an alternative polling place.

Council chief executive Gerry Cornes, Constituency Returning Officer for the Strathkelvin and Bearsden Consituency, said: “Council officers are working hard to prepare for the Scottish Parliamentary Election on May 5 - both in terms of the voting process and the count, which will take place in the Leisuredrome in Bishopbriggs.

“We have been contacted by a number of local residents as regards postal packs and are happy to help in any way.

“For those voting on 5 May please ensure you are familiar with which polling place you will be using.

“As regards the voting process, there will be two ballot papers.

“You will be asked to vote by placing an X next to your choice on each ballot paper.

“Assistance will be available for anyone who requires it on the day and in the run-up to May 5.”

You can contact East Dunbartonshire Council by calling 0300 123 4510 or visit

For a list of candidates turn to pages 26 and 27.