It’s crunch time for candidates as the polling booths open for voting

Ballot box
Ballot box

Help is at hand for the 
people of East Dunbartonshire and the surrounding areas who are taking to the polling booths on May 7.

Local residents will vote for a new MP in one of three constituencies depending on where they live.

The East Dunbartonshire constituency includes Bishopbriggs, Bearsden, Milngavie and part of Kirkintilloch.

The Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East constituency includes Lennoxtown, Milton of Campsie, Twechar and the eastern part of Kirkintilloch.

Finally, the Coatbridge, Chryston and Bellshill constituency takes in the Northern Corridor villages of Muirhead, Moodiesburn and Gartcosh.

Postal packs have been sent out for those who registered prior to the deadline. Replacement packs are available for those who have made an error from 30 April.

The majority of polling cards have been distributed, but a second tranche will be sent out before the election for those whose details changed in the run-up to the registration deadline.

The cards carry the details of the individual voter and where they can cast their vote.

In Kirkintilloch, people who are zoned to vote at Lairdsland Primary School are advised that the polling place will be at the old building in Kerr Street - NOT the new school.

Meanwhile, voters in Waterside are advised that the polling place for the General Election will be at Waterside Subscription Hall as opposed to the Miners’ Welfare.

Council Chief Executive Gerry Cornes, Returning Officer for East Dunbartonshire, said: “Council officers are working hard to prepare for the General Election on May 7 - both in terms of the voting process and the count, which will take place in The Leisuredrome in Bishopbriggs.

“We have been contacted by a number of local residents as regards postal packs and are happy to help in any way.

“For those voting on May 7 please ensure you are familiar with which polling place you will be using. As regards the voting process you will be asked to vote for one candidate by placing an X in the appropriate box.

“Assistance will be available for anyone who requires it on the day and in the run-up to 7 May.”

You can contact East Dunbartonshire Council by calling 0300 123 4510 or visit

The Returning Officer for the Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East Constituency and the Coatbridge, Chryston and Bellshill constituencies is Gavin Whitefield.

The count for the East Dunbartonshire vote will be at the Bishopbriggs Leisuredrome.

The count for the other two constituencies will be in Ravenscraig Sports Facility.