Local heroes praised for dedicated work

editorial image

Local heroes from across East Dunbartonshire have been recognised for the positive impact they have made in their communities.

They included 89-year-old Elizabeth Mitchell from 
Twechar, who was honoured for her role during the Second World War.

As well as being presented with certificates, the 31 heroes were invited for tea with Provost Una Walker at Kilmardinny House in Bearsden.

Elizabeth was conscripted into war work for the army in 1942 as a 17-year-old telephonist and remained in the 
services until 1964.

She and her husband adopted six siblings and over the years Elizabeth has been a huge supporter of her local church and day centre.

She said: “It was amazing to be asked along.”

Councillors nominated people who had gone the 
extra mile, whether through voluntary or charity work, or an outstanding career.

The Provost said: “Congratulations to each and every recipient who has helped make our community great.”

Full list: Clare Beattie (Youth Tennis); Lorna Rofe (Westerton Girl Guides); Vivian Mackay (Westerton Boys Brigade) Kim Kilgour (Community Activities, Westerton); Marjorie McCumesty (Community Services, Westerton); Grant Shearer (Strathkelvin Talking Newspaper); Rachel Crawford (Scottish Youth Parliament); Kerr Sewell (Counsellor, Lenzie Academy); Erin Gilmour (Counsellor, Lenzie Academy); Jim Russell, Jim Crawford, Irene Gardner and Betty Black (Milngavie Heritage Centre); Paul Saunders, Gail Ross, Ruth Young and Helen Carnegie (Friendship Circle); Alice Henderson (St. Columba’s Church organist, Kirkintilloch); Alan Henderson (Boys’ Brigade); Bob Tomlinson (Rotary Club and President of Probus); Margaret Tomlinson (Soroptimists); Gillian Kelly, Ann Kelly, Juliet McCollum and Sharon Moir (Families of Auchinairn); Aileen Crosbie (Services to Teaching); Jeni Hinshelwood (Chair of the Craigdhu Parent Council); Ishbel Stillie (Craigdhu Primary School); Marie Starrs (Campsie Memorial Hall); Margaret Lynas (Services to Teaching), Rena Sharkey (Nursing) and Elizabeth Mitchell (Community and Country)