Veteran Labour MP defeated in SNP landslide

Long serving Labour MP, Tom Clarke was beaten by the SNP’s Phillip Boswell to represent Coatbridge, Chryston and Bellshill by a majority of 11, 501 votes.

Clarke took 34 per cent with 17,195 votes while Boswell polled 56 per cent with 28,696 votes.

As one of the longest serving members of the House of Commons, Clarke has represented the constituency since 1982.

Mhairi Fraser, for the Scottish Conservative and Unionist party came third with 3,209 votes.

Turnout was 68.7 per cent and the total number of votes cast was 50,753.

In the Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East constituency, Shadow Pensions Minister Greg McClymont was soundly defeated by the SNP’s Stuart McDonald by almost 15,000 votes.

McClymont, who has represented the constituency since 2010, polled 30 per cent with 14,820 votes while McDonald took almost 60 per cent and polled 29,572 votes.

Conservative candidate, Malcolm George Eric MacKay came third overall with 3,891 votes.

Total votes cast were 49,508 and the percentage turnout was 73.8 per cent.

After the result, Mr McDonald paid tribute to his fellow candidates, thanking them for the “good-natured conduct of the campaign.”

Mr McDonald also also thanked his team of volunteers for all their hard work in delivering “an incredible result”.

He added: “Finally but most importantly,to my constituents in Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East, a massive heartfelt thank you for putting your trust in me.

“As your Member of Parliament, I assure you I will give everything I have for the people of this constituency. It is a privilege to have the opportunity to serve the people of the constituency I call home – and I very much look forward to getting started”.